Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How do I know if an expansion tank is working properly?

gsherm
gsherm Member Posts: 1
Hello All,

I work as an energy auditor in New York City and we perform energy audits on many small to large multifamily properties. We come across numerous hydronic heating systems equipped with old expansion tanks. A few questions:

1) How does one determine if an expansion tank has a bladder without having to look up the make and model?

2) How does one know if an expansion tank is flooded or waterlogged without a guage glass? Is knocking on the outer wall of the tank a viable strategy?

Any other tips or investigative procedures would be helpful for me and our team of energy auditors. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,852
    Loaded questions...

If you really want to learn more about hydronics, invest the time and money to purchase Dans books.

Gnereally speaking, if it is mounted to the ceiling above teh heat source, it is a non captive tank. No bladder or diaphragm. Residentially, unless it is a HUGE mansion, the expansion tank will be a diaphragm type, not a bladder type.

If it is the old ceiling hung type, there can NOT be any automatic air removal devices in the system.

If it is the newer style of diaphragm tank, there SHOULD be automatic air vents.

As for checking a tank, unless you have a infrared camera, knocking on the side of the tank only tells you that it is there, because you are knocking on it.

Keep an eye on the pressure. If it remains relatively stable, the tank is fine. If it climbs quickly while boiler is firing, it could be partially water logged.

As for determining the volume of the tank, if it is hung from the ceiling, the volume is called out in gallons, so you have to do a little math to determine that.