Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

In Wall Cooling Fan

Options
brooks_2
brooks_2 Member Posts: 1
my boiler room is hot, only has one ventilating grid in wall... i've installed an in-wall fan, but am concerned the air is flowing in the wrong direction - blowing warm air out of the room, possibly removing combusion oxygen from the room... should the fan be turned around to blow cool air into the room?

thx.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    Curing problems instead of symptoms?

I know nothing about your installation, and I am not a professional, but your post makes me want to ask:

Have you investigated why your boiler room is too hot? It may be that you have pipes that need to be insulated. If your boiler is as old as the one I had removed, perhaps the boiler needs to be insulated also. (Since I am not a professional, I would not dare attempt to insulate a boiler myself.)

While I could be wrong, it is my understanding that a boiler room needs two vents, one withing 12" of the floor, and one within 12" of the ceiling. Their area is specified by the code, at least it is around here. This area depends on the air consumption of the boiler, for one thing.

I think it is strange that this is required for my boiler that sucks its air directly from outside, and blows the exhaust directly to the outside. A professional here might be able to tell me why. No problem for me, since the vents were already there.
  • Jack
    Jack Member Posts: 1,047
    Options
    YOu may have a couple different things happening here.