Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

sizing replacement boiler

Options
for my house.   total EDR is 376 sq feet.  I included two radiators that were removed from my system, they are still in my garage.  All basement piping is insulated and all piping in outside walls are insulated as well. I have done a lot of work on my house and know where all the pipes are.   When I did my BTU calculation i ended up with NET I=B=R rating 90,240, Gross rating 90,240x1.33= 120,019  I have had two contractors give estimates on replacement boilers and they both have sized the new boiler one size larger. I am concerned with having an over sized boiler.  I  have read Dan's books and understand the reasons for using 1.5 pick-up factor.  I have included my calculation so my work can be checked.  I am NOT a Pro, so what have I missed?   I have an oil-fired Weill-Mcclain that I want to replace with a gas fired system.  I have received bids for burnam I6 and Weill-Mcclain eg-50.  When I looked at the slant-fin galaxy gxha-160 That looked like the correct sized boiler for my system.  If I wanted to add a condensate loop for some baseboard heating how would that affect my boiler sizing?

Thanks to all who take the time to read and answer home owner's questions.  You guys are a great help.

Comments

• Dave in QCA
    Dave in QCA Member Posts: 1,786
    Options
    boiler sizing

You are correct in your assumptions.   Here are some additional points to try to clarify things for you.

All Steam boilers have several ratings:

Input rating: is the amount of fuel that is burned.

Output rating: is the gross amount of heat that the boiler can provide to a system.

Steam Sq. Ft.:   is the total EDR that can be connected to the boiler and have it heated propertly.  (note that the piping and pickup factors are already figured in)