Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Hammer on new (last year) boiler

Options
I am a heating contractor and have successfully installed many steam boilers over the years however there's this one boiler thats giving me a little trouble. I replaced this oil/steam boiler last year with a weil mclain gold with a tankless. I always replace the vents on the radiators and the main vents without fail whenever I replace a steam boiler. The old vents hadn't been changed in about 25 years. I have skimmed the boiler at least twice already.

The boiler runs fine however the customer is complaining about a deafening hammer that randomly happens on the opposite side of the house seemingly on the 2nd floor, mostly in the middle of the night when everyone is sleeping and it wakes up everyone in the house.

I myself have spent a quite a bit of time observing this boiler and haven't heard this phenomena. The customer said it never did this before I did the replacement.

The properties of steam obviously haven't changed, I haven't changed the main across the basement, and its not hammering near the boiler. I am wondering if I need to skim even more or if my changing the vents unleashed a problem that was concealed by a blocked vent all these years. And I also checked to make sure all the radiator valves are wide open. This one has me perplexed and any useful comments would be appreciated.

I don't believe the customer is lying as they have no reason to, they are close relatives of mine.

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,578
    Options
    mysterious water-hammer