Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I think I broke it when I cleaned it

Options
crash2009
crash2009 Member Posts: 1,484
I was wondering if anyone knows if its possible to break a pressure gauge while blowing down the boiler or is something else wrong?  Maybe my technique is no good.  My pressuretrol is set to cut-out at 2 lbs.  The guage is a 0-3 lbs.  I wrote the following in a e-mail to my self shortly after finishing so that I could reference it later because I have never done this before.  The automatic water feeder is bypassed to allow just a trickle of fresh water in.  Then the water is boiled and the pressure is allowed to build up to 1.5 lbs.  The valve connecting the garden hose is opened for a 10 count then closed, the pressure pushes all the crap outside.  After all 4 drain valves have been flushed several times, the hose is connected to the skimmer, the gas is shut off, the feeder bypass is still running, and the surface oils are forced through the top.  This process takes about an hour.  Then the process is repeated 4 or 5 times.  Finally, the water level is dropped down to normal, and the oxygen in the water removed, by boiling for 15 minutes.  (pic 668 two of three drain valves) (pic 675 drain to the outside) (pic 679 metal filings picked up with a magnet).  (pic 686 pressuretrol and 0-3 gauge)......I just thought of something.....maybe that gauge stopped working because its mounted sideways?

Comments

• Rod
    Rod Posts: 2,067
    Options
    Gauge Problems

Hi - I assume you disassembled it and checked for blockage?  I've found it's best to mount gauges, controls etc. on a vertical nipple so they will drain easily if water gets near them.

- Rod
  • crash2009
    Options
    No, Rod