Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Jell substance in bottom of hot water heater

Wojo
Wojo Member Posts: 7
I am a plumber and work in the Chicago suburbs, almost every town has Lake Michigan water, I have noticed when I drain and clean out the bottom of the 100 gallon hot water heaters with my arm in the clean out whole there is very little mineral debris but a lot of this blue/grey jell substance. Everyone I have asked to explain what this is gives me a different answer, bacteria, diptube resin, byproduct of all the chemicals added to the water, etc.. Can anyone out there give me a firm answer as to what this jell stuff is?  Thanks in advance, Mark

Comments

• Steve Whitbeck
    Steve Whitbeck Member Posts: 669
    Jell

Could it be resin from the water softener?
  • Wojo
    jell

Lake Michigan water tends to be soft by nature and it is rare to find softners anymore. The job in question does not have a softner.
  • mark schofield
    mark schofield Member Posts: 153
    gel in tank

I found a similar situation. I'm using a 50 gallon Whirlpool electric water heater as a solar storage tank for DHW. The electric elements are not hooked up. The tank temperature gets to about 150 degrees during a sunny summer day. Town water. Plummed with copper. 
  • Jim Bennett
    Jim Bennett Member Posts: 607
    Blue Goo.....

Try posting the question here.

http://www.waterheaterrescue.com/TheTank.html

My guess is it is dissolved solids in the water coming out of solution.

Good luck,

Jim
    Jim Bennett
  • Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,853
    edited October 2010
    This is the reason I refused do ever to a direct potable water heating RFH system...