Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Balancing Valves for hydronic heating

I'm new to the hydronic heating world and I've read a great deal regarding the use of Balancing Valves on hydronic heating.  I understand their use and importance in "balancing" a system...however I haven't seen too many in the field yet.  Are they "old" technology that are being replaced by something else or are they simply one of those things that get "omitted" as the job goes along and only added back in when the system doesn't perform as desired.

Thanks in advance for everyone's help.

Comments

• Balancing Valves

The only time I use balancing valves is when they come with the manifolds I buy.  I never intentionally put them in since the residential hydronic systems we install seems to balance by themselves.

I used to have about a dozen B & G Flow Setters that sat on the shelf for years.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • Nick Ciasullo
    Nick Ciasullo Member Posts: 44
    Yes and No

Balancing Valves are a great idea in any system.  The larger the system, the better the idea.  Now to reality.

The reality is they are not ever used in a residential system.  Is it because they are too expensive, or is it because they aren't understood?  Possibly both.