Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Buffer tank and air vent together?

MikeyB
MikeyB Member Posts: 696
Does it make any sense to install a buffer tank(boiler buddy) and an Sprio Vent in the same system? I know the Boiler Buddy comes w/a high capacity air vent, but will that vent do as good as a job as a Spriro Vent would? Is it a waste of material/money to install both? thanks guys

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Spirovent location.

I am not a professional, but I have a boiler and an indirect-fired hot water heater. Weil-McLain for both. The water heater is not used as a boiler buddy, but it is a tank-within-a-tank design with an automatic air vent at the top. The boiler has a fancy air extractor, a Taco 4900 series that is a lot like a Spirovent. The Indirect did vent some air when the system was first installed. Since that time, I have checked the vent about once a month for a while. The first time, I got a little air, but now all I get is water from the vent. I infer that all the air that will come out that way is out.

It was pretty clear that this did not remove all the air from my system. (I did not expect it to.) The fancy air extractor eventually got the rest of the air, but it took about 2 months. I believe it was this slow because the water to heat the house is only about 135F at most, and usually much less, and those air extractors work best if they are hotter (to drive off the dissolved air). But eventually it got the rest of the air.

So my answer to your question would be to use both, but put the spirovent immediately after the boiler (after the relief valve, too, I suppose) so as to deliver the hottest water to it. This will get rid of the dissolved air and possibly the microbubbles that will probably not come off in the hot water tank.
  • hot_rod