Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

new tech boiler - Big Old Gravity

Options
PFG
PFG Member Posts: 1
Family plumbing and heating business since1929. I have A Master Plumber's License and 41years in the trade.  Our area is mostly steam and gravity hot water (closed & converted 50+ years ago). With larger and larger tax incentives we have more and more people interested in high efficiency, condensing boilers. I've contacted several manufacturers (Weil McLain & Triangle) to get their take on mixing one of these into a system that literally takes hours to drain in refill...big house a big pipes...tons of water! My only exposure to the "latest and greatest" in technology has been very expensive control replacement nightmares. My latest quote for a old - time customer was originally based on installing a Weil McLain PFG-7. She wants me to go high-efficiency. Someone convince me....PLEASE.

Comments

• tim smith
    tim smith Member Posts: 2,752
    edited August 2010
    Options
    Converting old gravity systems

We have done many of these, works great. We use TT Prestige boilers, does not take much pump to do these, really just have to provide enough head to cover boiler as there is no pressure drop in the old gravity systems at the flow rates needed. Drain and flush well,  put large return Y strainer or basket strainer on. You will not be sorry, we just love this set up and have provided lots of savings for these old large houses, apt bldgs etc etc.  Good luck, have fun.  Tim
  • Al Letellier_21
    Al Letellier_21 Member Posts: 402
    Options
    gravity systems