Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiantec

radmix
radmix Member Posts: 194
I'm a heating contractor that is used to using Extruded aluminum plates for my radiant install. I have a customer that said my quote was to high and that Radiantec told him that there system will work @ the same supply water temp @ design then the extruded plates even with one tubing run per bay 7/8  tube. I find this hard to believe. I also think with a thermal imaging camera you would also see striping in the floor surface. Do any of you have any experience pro or con with working with this system.

Comments

• heatboy
    heatboy Member Posts: 1,468
    edited March 2010
    Request the owner....

.....show you Radiantec's heat loss and design for his home.  When he tells you they didn't do one, show him yours.  Case closed.  If he still balks, give him your card, tell him to call you for service (because there will be lots of it) and walk away.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,852
    Suggestions...

First off, your gut instincts are correct. Your other gut instinct should tell you that the owner of Radiantec is extremely litigious, and will drop a cease and desist order or threaten you with a defamation lawsuit in a heart beat. Be careful what you say.

Tell your consumer, that by code (IECC) a complete heat loss/heat gain calculation must be done, and ask them if they ever received one from their internet supplier.

The code (IAPMO, UPC) also requires that if a water heater is to be used as the heat source, that it be sized such as to be able to handle simultaneous loads at design conditions.