Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wholesalers

68GMC
68GMC Member Posts: 36
I am looking for some honest opinions from contractors about why wholesalers either don't want to sell to the homeowner, or are unwilling to help them out sourcing items. I perfectly understand not selling natural gas appliances, gas valves, gas water heater parts, etc. to a homeowner, who may or may not know how to install and test such items. I have no experience with oil or propane appliances, but I would assume the wholesalers would have the same no-sale attitude.

One contractor I dealt with last week said that the wholesalers do not want to sell to homeowners because it takes bread out of the contractors mouth. Fair enough, I understand and appreciate that. But we all have mechanics, and we all have Auto Part stores that sell to the public, that would take money away from mechanics. Should Home Depot not sell hammers, so you have to hire a trim carpenter?

Another point... everyone is scared of the recession....why would a business, HVAC/Plumbing wholesaler or not, turn AWAY money coming their way, and risk poor word of mouth advertising?

I, as a homeowner, am not allowed to purchase a vaporstat from one wholesaler locally, depending on the counterperson, because it is attached to a gas appliance. The cost to me quoted to purchase, was $215, from 2 different wholesalers. I asked my HVAC tech if it was possible to rebuild mine, he called today and said he couldn't, a replacement would cost me $350. Now, is that fair, to pay another $135, PLUS $100 labor to install it? Again, I understand markup, I would expect 10%-30% markup is fair.