Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiator Reflectors

I'm new to the wall, although I've been to this site before for advice, so I knew that this would be good resource for my question.

I've not been able to find any posts about this on the forum, but does anybody have experience or thoughts about the value of placing reflective panels behind steam radiators?  The theory is that without them, the radiator is merely heating the wall assembly, but if a reflector is used, that heat raditing to the back of the unit would be reflected in to the room.

I learned of this method reading about the recent Empire State Building energy efficiency rehab in which they are, among many other things, placing these reflectors behind the radiators in the building.  I'm not sure what they are using in this case, but I have seen online examples using reflective bubble wrap glued to luan, reflective rigid insulation, and even aluminum foil on cardboard.

Does anybody have experience with these techniques?  Do they work with a noticeable comfort difference, or are the effects nominal to non-existant?

Thanks.

Comments

• jpf321
    jpf321 Member Posts: 1,568
    there have been at least

in recent months, there have been at least 2 discussions on this same subject. the answer seemed to be that YES it may well be beneficial to place reflective "panels" behind rads .. I think one person even suggested wrapping a large enough piece of cardboard in aluminum foil as the cheapest method .. if you dig around in past posts, you should find the two threads. 
    1-pipe Homeowner - Queens, NYC

NEW: SlantFin Intrepid TR-30 + Tankless + Riello 40-F5 @ 0.85gph | OLD: Fitzgibbons 402 boiler + Beckett "SR" Oil Gun @ 1.75gph

installed: 0-20oz/si gauge | vaporstat | hour-meter | gortons on all rads | 1pc G#2 + 1pc G#1 on each of 2 mains