Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gravity System: Appreciate Advice

Options
I looked at a gravity conversion the other day.  I am new to this type of hot water heating,  I am responsible for the boiler installation and to tie-into the existing supply and return branch mains in the boiler room only- the distribution piping and radiators are not in my scope of work.  The owner would like 2 zones.  There are 3 sets of branch mains: Group 1-(1) 5 inch supply with (2) 4 inch returns ( 1 return is for the radiators above and 1 is for fan coil units mounted below the height of these branch mains in the cellar- this return runs in the cellar floor), Group 2- (1) 3 inch supply and return main and Group 3 is (1) 2 inch supply and return main.  The owner would like Group 1 on one zone and connect Group 2 and 3 together forming another zone. The energy consultant on board  came up with a heat loss of approximately 550,000 btu's.  From Dan's book "How Come?" I have an idea of how to size the near boiler piping, but I am a little confused how to do so when 2 branch mains are connected together and or when there are 2 return lines for 1 supply?  Any ideas on this and other things to look out for greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Options
    Gravity Conversion

The easy part is that your main header will be 2½" for a 20° delta T.  As for sizing the separate zones, you will need to have some idea of the BTU's of the connected load.

You have 3 branch mains.  One zone will supply one branch and the other zone will supply the other two branches.  All the returns will combine.  Is it that easy?
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • Jason Quinn
    Jason Quinn Member Posts: 96
    Options
    Yes. Thank you.