Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Neatest cleanest way to relocate circulator and Extrol tank?

TMcD
TMcD Member Posts: 6
I've had lots of air gurgling problems off and on since my house was built in 2002 and I'd like to take the bull by the horns and move the hydronic circulator and expansion tank.  Currently the circulator is on the return side of the boiler and the expansion tank is on the supply side.  The pictures I'm attaching look kind of small in the preview, but there are two views of the system, which I thought was a nice workmanlike job in appearance, though I guess not in function.  I hope they visible enough.  I can always take more close-ups.

I'm not a pro, but do have basic plumbing skills, better than basic electrical, and I'm going to tackle this myself.  Probably.  I've worked with galvanized and copper, and even a little cast iron soil pipe back in the day before hubless adaptors.  I could hire the original guy to do it, but he'd probably ask why the H*** I wanted him to do THAT. 

I'm hoping someone can look at the pictures and  maybe suggest a nice clean new way to layout and re-pipe the circulator and tank.  I guarantee you won't insult me by including even the smallest details.

Thanks.

TMcD

Comments

• Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,929
    edited February 2010
    Easy Fix

Just move the circulator after the air scoop and expansion tank ... This way you will be pumping away and the zone valves will be on the other side of the system from the circulators , where they should be to help prevent zonevalve banging noise ....

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• TMcD
    I wish it was that simple.