Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat loss calc discussion, radiator placement

I'm a retired engineer, and for enjoyment and a little income, do plans and engineering for clients building new houses, or remodeling existing ones.  I like to know as much as I can about the heating system for a project, so I can draw the plans to accommodate it.

The pics show a small vacation house that will be built on a well-insulated crawlspace, in a climate with about 9000 degree days heating. 

I have downloaded Taco's software that permits heat loss calcs, and want to see what we get in the application.

I am not showing skylights in the images, but there are two.  I think I should treat them as windows and specify accordingly, and for the ceilings above, downgrade the insulation factor a little because of the openings.  Does that seem like the right approach for skylights when using software like this for heat loss?

You can pick it out by a close look at the pics, and see that the mainfloor greatroom has a big ceiling vault above, and windows high up in the gable wall.  I believe I should use the 2D Taco floorplan and upsize the windows on floor MAIN to compensate for the extra glass up high.  Does that seem right?

The plan is to heat using a small mod-con boiler in the crawlspace under the stairs, ladder-accessed through the door shown on the main floor.  Panel radiators with TRVs throughout, will provide the heat.

How does one treat that walk-in closet upstairs?  No radiator, but insulate the walls well to the outside, and insulate the between-walls that divide it from adjoining heated space?

With the kitchen not having any outside walls, do we not place any kind of emitter there?

Would it be good to place a small upright emitter on the main floor at the U in the winder staircase?

Comments

• Radiator System