Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Design a simple system

I'm not a heating pro.  A retired engineer, I enjoy making a little spare change doing designs and construction documents for new construction and remodeling.  I enjoy knowing something about the heating systems, however, and have been involved in a half dozen or so new builds with various forms of radiant heating.

A small vacation home is being cooked up on paper, and is proposed to be heated with panel radiators (TRV-equipped) throughout, using a small mod-con wallmount like a Trinity Ti (good local service), fired with LP gas.

Crawlspace with the mechanicals there, a 950 sf main floor above with 5 radiators, and a half-story above that with 3 more radiators.  Main has foyer-entry-kitchen all one fluid space, then a bath, laundry, and bedroom.  Up has two beds and one bath.

Zones?  Outdoor reset?  One wall t'stat only, somewhere on that main floor?

I'm curious as to how this might best be laid out.

Comments

• CMadatMe
    CMadatMe Member Posts: 3,086
    edited December 2009
    Simple

Just designed a job this way. Used a mon-con. We used a Wirsbo True Flow 7 Loop radiant manifold supply 7 integral panel rads. No thermostat! There's a nice diagram in the attached on page 19. Take a read.
    "The bitter taste of a poor installation remains much longer than the sweet taste of the lowest price."
  • Gene Davis_3
    Gene Davis_3 Member Posts: 51
    Wow! Great information.

Looks ridiculously simple!  Thanks a lot.

Appears to be a "control board" even a retired engineer can pipe and understand.
  • CMadatMe
    Glad to Be of Help

Make sure you do that heat loss and make sure you use the manfactures correction factors when sizing. Some only give you the 160 degree water rating.