Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

vacuum system

Options
I am a licenced plumber that does case research and investigative work for attorneys and insurance companies. A new case that I am working on involves what I am told to be is a closed vacuum steam system. The basis of this case involves damage to property caused by water. One side is arguing that a large puddle of water about three feet in diameter was seen emanating from under the radiator on and off for several days during operation. A plumber that was hired by the building is going to testify that a closed vacuum system is designed to completely avoid leaks and to minimize if not entirely negate the collection of moister and condensation.  He explains that steam enters the radiator via a feed pipe and is sucked through the radiator into the return pipe by the vacuum system. he also says that the steam trap on the return catches condensation and prevents leaks.He says that because the steam is being sucked through the pipes and radiator that it would not be able to escape the system even if there were a crack in the radiator.He says that even if the radiator was cracked that the amount of steam that would escape would only produce an ounce or two of condensation not nearly enough to produce a large puddle of water. Now I have worked on quite a few steam systems in my career but admittedly not that many vacuum systems. Without getting to technical I thought the steam trap is normally open until steam reaches it at which point it would close trapping the steam which would then turn to condensate. If this is the normal function of the system isn't it then possible for the condensate to leak from the system if there is a break in either the radiator, a nearby fitting, the steam trap itself or the return piping? Please advise because I have never heard of this