Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Alpha brain

Options
Devan
Devan Member Posts: 138
I'm finding I'm getting desired delta T on constant pressure setting vs. Auto adapt setting. which seems to settle in around 13 watts @ 1 gpm. Constant setting is 20 watts @ 2 gpm, but 10* delta on my radiant zones.

I also have a couple of alpha's on a project with home run- HWBB loops and Auto setting works great.

I wonder if constant setting for radiant (higher head) systems a better fit than letting the pump think for itself.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    See why I want computer readout of system controls?

I have no idea about your system (and I am not a professional anyway). I do have experience in the distant past designing feedback control systems, and from that experience I have found that the more complex the control system, the more difficult it is to analyze, and the more unexpected results you can expect to obtain.

So on my system (primary-secondary with circulators to control the zones), the part that controls my radiant heating downstairs is the boiler with outdoor reset; it controls the temperature of the water delivered to the downstairs zone. And the circulator for that zone is just a Taco 007-IFC. And there it is pretty clear I should not put in a delta-T circulator instead, because that circulator would be either useless, or worse: it would fight the outdoor reset.