Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

H1N1(swine-flu),,,

Options
IF any of us get it, are we all dead??

What do you think of the "shots"?

Should we all dress like "astronauts" in daily life this season?

Thoughts.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Options
    I am not a doctor either.

I do not get regular flue shots, but sometimes I get what seems to be the flu. I have not come close to dying from it. I get some shots, but by no means all. I am not all that sure that in this case, the benefits are worth the risk. But this seems to be a very emotional matter.

It seems that, at least so far, H1N1 flue is no worse than most of the others, and since the demand for the vaccine is so high, it is being offered to health-care professionals, and children first. Older folks (like me, age 71) last since they seem less likely to get it than others.

I would not wear a "space suit" or even bother with one of those face masks (since one of the definitions of a virus is a thing that passes through filters). I would avoid crowded places such as emergency rooms, and wash my hands more frequently than usual.
  • Paul Fredricks_3
    Paul Fredricks_3 Member Posts: 1,557
    Options
    Me

I get a flu shot each year. Our company has a nurse come in and give them for free. Haven't had the flu in years. Yes, I'd get an H1N1 shot.

I had a nephew who died from the flu a few years back. It's kind of a rare thing from what I understand.
  • Al Roethlisberger
    Al Roethlisberger Member Posts: 194
    edited October 2009
    Options
    We had it, no big deal....