Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

steam heat obnoxious whistle

i live in an old apartment building with steam heat.  the mgmt company turned the heat on last week and sent some maintenance men around to "check everyone's radiators out"... whatever that means.  i'm not complaining about the hissing, the gurgling, the ridiculous extremes of temperatures.  i'm a grad student and spend a fair amount of time locked in my apt attempting to study.  i cannot take the high-pitched, loud, long whistle emanating from all of the radiators.  i tried complaining about this last year, but was told it was "normal" by my building manager.  i ended up wearing earplugs and spending a lot of time at the library.  this year i ended up googling it and read some articles which lead me to believe this whistling means something's not right.  is that true?  is it something that could be fixed?  was my building manager just blowing me off?  i know that there is a legal doctrine called the implied covenant of quiet enjoyment, which basically means i am entitled, as a renter, to the quiet enjoyment of my apartment.  this whistling is certainly not quiet, and it is certainly not helping me to enjoy my apartment.  any thoughts on suggestions i could give my building manager re: fixing this problem?  thanks to anyone who can help!!!

Comments

• Whistle

Hi - It would be a big help if you could  post a picture of the radiator that is bothering you. We need to see the piping and the type of vent attached to it . If there is name/ words and / or numbers on the vent that would be helpful too.

Just a few questions to give us a better idea of your situation:

1. Is there one pipe or two attached to the radiator?

2,Where is the boiler located (presumably in the basement) and how close are you to the boiler? ( What floor?).