Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

gravity hot water

bob e.
bob e. Member Posts: 8
Just sold an ultra 210 for an old hot water gravity system, also a taco delta T

for system circ. do you see any problems?

thank you

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Are you going to pipe it exactly as in the boiler manual?

Note: I am not a professional.

The boiler must have at least the minimum required flow rate through the heat exchanger. So normally this would be piped primary-secondary with a Taco 0014 and a FloCheck valve in the primary loop. I do not see a model 210 in my manual; only 80 and 105 that take a Taco 007, and 155, 230, and 310 that take the 0014. I will assume a typo and that you are using a 310.

For that you will want the primary loop to be piped with 1 1/2" pipe.

Are you using the Taco delta T for a circulator in the secondary loop? It is just a quibble, but if you use a circulator there, is it still a gravity system? If the secondary part of the system has zone valves, the right size deltaT circulator might be a good design.

I hope you did a heat loss calculation to size the boiler. A 310 is pretty big (310K BTU/hr input) and the modulating aspect of the boiler will be useless if it is too big. Since my small Cape Cod house calculates out to need about 30K to 40K I infer this one is almost 10x larger or lossier than mine. Could be, I suppose.
  • bob e.
    bob e. Member Posts: 8
    gravity hot water

JD

thank you for you thoughts.

yes I did a heat loss and counted the sq. foot of the standing c.i. radiators.

I'am using a califi hydrolic separator on secondary side with the taco variable speed pump. single zone one stat. ultra 230.

my plan is to set delta t @ 20 deg and fine tune if required.

what do you think?

thank you
  • Jean-David Beyer