Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating the Pool

Rich Ferris
Rich Ferris Member Posts: 72
I have a Buderus G115/4 with Logomatic and S-120 indirect to 2 zones of baseboard.

Rich

Comments

• Rich Ferris
    How do you guys heat your pools?

I'm a heating contractor, Yet my pool is never warm enough for me. I maintain it for my Wife and two young boys but I rarely go in myself because its just not warm enough. We nibbled at putting in a Propane heater (Just like our neighbor)(Identical pool installed by same installer 20 yrs ago for previous owners). I decided last year that I would make a Solar Heater using ABS and making a rack. This helped the Solar Cover but it still didn't do the job, As my Wife kept reminding me. I'm trying to get some creative ideas from you guys since a Heat Pump cost is really up there but less of a hassle than propane.

Thanks,

Rich
  • Just curious Rich,

what kind of system are you using in the house?

Dave
  • Andrew Hagen_2
    Andrew Hagen_2 Member Posts: 236
    Questions

What are the dimensions of the pool? Where are you located?
  • Rich

I have one of these maxi-flow units to install this week on his oil fired unit.
    Not sure what will happen to his oil consumption!
    As Andrew mentions, watch your sizing.

Dave
  • Rich Ferris
    Dimensions of Pool

Inground 16' x 32'. 15,000 Gallons. Hartford County-Connecticut
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,830
    250- 350 square feet

of solar collector is a rule of thumb. 50- 70% of the surface area.

The best bang for your bucks would be pool collectors if it is just for summer time use.

Roth, SolarHot and many others have polymer pool collectors available.

RET Screen, a free download, will let you run swimming pool calcs to show you some options.

hr
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA