Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do I need to neutralize?

Options
Yes, yes, yes, since I'm also a plumber and now seeing the result of acidic 'waste' from the heating units. Cast iron etched out and causing sewer gas and leakage under ground... and the idiots codes still required cast iron replacment while connected to pvc sewer outside the building.

Comments

• Serge
    Serge Member Posts: 17
    Options
    Do I need to neutralize condensate?

Pretige 110. Floor drain with new PVC drain line ~30ft hooked into old cast iron hub. Everything drains into the cast iron hub (shower, toilet, etc).

Should I still hook up a neutralizer?
  • Unknown
    Options
    neutralize condensate?

Absolutely,, for the reasons Ray stated!

Dave
  • GW
    GW Member Posts: 4,699
    Options
    yea

we make our own, 3" PVC Dandy with 3x1 and 3 x 3/4 bushings, and fill it up with marble chips. gary

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • Serge
    Serge Member Posts: 17
    Options
    Ok dokey.

I've seen the pics of ones that people have made, just wasn't sure I needed to if it was going into PVC waste pipe and then way down the line to cast iron.

But, rather be safe than sorry!
  • GW
    GW Member Posts: 4,699
    Options
    yes

I guess if there's cast iron anywhere it's best to neuter the stuff, if the house was new, all plastic, i would say NO (a little low-ph condensate is going to mess with the septic or sewer???)

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
  • Kool Rod
    Kool Rod Member Posts: 175
    Options