Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Faulty powerpile or thermostat?

jumbee
jumbee Member Posts: 25
Thanks Tim

I am a homeowner not a pro and until this morning I had never heard of a powerpile. I knew of a thermocouple but not a powerpile.

The voltage I measured was at the two wires with the tstat off the wall so I guess the tstat wasn't "calling". Also I don't know if this tstat can be used with a powerpile. The info on the box stated that it could be used with steam heat so I purchased it.

What's bugging me is that the system worked flawlessly until about a month ago. What I did notice was that when the system dosen't fire up even though the tstat shows all the correct reading on the LED I never hear the relay click that activates the boiler.

Another point is there a special tstat that's needed for a powerpile?

I would be interested in the info on how to trouble shoot the powerpile so I'll email you.

Comments

• jumbee
    Faulty powerpile or thermostat?

Hello experts, need some help
    I have an old peerless steam boiler that uses a Honeywell Powerpile model # VS8187A 1138 that isn't manufactured anymore. Last year around October I installed an Honeywell Programmable tstat model # RTH6300B that has the setback features etc.
    The system worked fine until a couple of months ago when sometimes the programmable feature dosen't work. The tstat would show the house temp and the heat temp but the boiler dosen't fire up. If I manually turn off the tstat and adjust the temp the boiler will start. Called Honeywell and was told that somehing was amiss with my line voltage.
    So I pulled out my VOM and checked the voltage at the tstat...825 mV. Honeywell says that the tstat can only work at 750 mV.

My questions are