Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pipe sweating techniques

Rocky_3
Rocky_3 Member Posts: 233
Pro Press! ;-)

Rock

Comments

• Indysteamer
    Indysteamer Member Posts: 12
    Pipe sweating techniques

I have been installing boilers mainly hot water for a few years now. I have learned tons from this site. I often check out some of your installation pics and am amazed at how clean your pipes look.

How do you keep solder from running down pipes on occasion?
    I use a B-tank #95 flux etc. Don't have leaks very often but my joints don't look near as perfect as most of the ones I see on this site. Seems like I always have a little solder running here or dripping there. I do wipe down joints with a damp rag.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

• dry rag

Try wiping with a dry 100% cotton rag while the solder is still melted. This will wipe off the beads and give you a smooth looking joint. The wet rag will harden the solder and not allow you to smoothe the bumps out.
  • clammy
    clammy Member Posts: 3,143
    be cheap with the flux and solder

As i was taught you don,t need alot of flux nor alot of solder ,The rule i use on smaller pipe up to about 1 1/2 is if your soldering a 1/2 pipe you should use no more then a 1/2 solder and after heating my joint i wipe the bubbling flux then re apply heat and touch the joint with solder and that's it then of course spray the joint with windex or spray nine and wipe off good this way all the residule flux will not green the joint later .on another point don,t over heat your joint we call a perfect joint a wedding band and it is the sign of some one who not just tossing stuff in peace and good luck clammy

R.A. Calmbacher L.L.C. HVAC
    NJ Master HVAC Lic.
    Mahwah, NJ
    Specializing in steam and hydronic heating

• I've heard