Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Question about replacing steam vents on rad

Linda R
Linda R Member Posts: 15
the rads are all pitched correctly. I already fixed pitch 3 others (not the same rads with faulty vents) that had been recently installed perfectly level :-) for more on that see soon to be posted "whole story" of knucklehead stuff done to my system.

Thanks for the answers. I have Teflon tape and though maybe I should use it but couldn't see any evidence on the other radiators and had visions of it "gluing" the valve in place or something horrific. Will not use oil, girl scout promise :-).

Linda

Comments

• Linda R
    Question about replacing steam vent on radiator

Ok, I'm a newbie, homeowner and just read Dan's "We Got Steam Heat" book bought because my heating costs were ridiculous last month. I've found a bunch of stuff wrong with my system and I'm starting to tackle some of the small stuff I can do on my own.
    So I have 1-pipe steam. I have 2 radiators with vents that are spewing steam when the supply valve is on (they're off now). I bought two Vari-Valve vents and its my stated intention :-) to replace those misbehaving vents.
    Now I know that I turn the heat off first.
    Then, do I leave the supply closed or open it?
    Then I screw off the old valve.
    And before I put the new one on, is there anything I should do such as clean, oil, or tape?

Thanks for your help - I know these questions must seem fairly trivial but I want to do it right.

Linda
  • Linda, you did the right thing by buying the book.