Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam pipe diameter and insulation question

Mark Z_2
Mark Z_2 Member Posts: 24
Sean, hear ya on the piping. The riser that leaves your main line usually starts w/ a T in the main set at ~45 deg, then a nipple, followed a 45deg elbow all set so that the angle of the remaining riser is roughly a 1/2" of upward rise per foot. You might be able to reduce the length of that initial nipple to increase the pitch. PITA, but it can be done and I've personally done it. Further, upon re-assembly and once the piping is open, a T, w/ an extra air vent could be installed. Not a big $$ cost, but a lotta of grunt work on your end. In the nd you'll still keep a good pitch. Best of luck.

Mark Z

Comments

• Sean M
    Sean M Member Posts: 6
    Steam pipe diameter and insulation question

I am new to steam heat, but I picked up the Holohan book and have been accessing my system. I have two concerns about my current system: uneven heat, and efficiency. Right now, I am trying to address the first. Most of the original house is fine and toasty, however the wing that was added about 100 years ago is cold (usually 15 degrees colder than the rest of the house). It has a single monster 22 column, six tube radiator that barely warms up. That radiator is fed from a 35' long 1 1/2" steam pipe (the rest of the system uses standard 2" pipes). I insulated the pipes, changed the radiator steam valve and made sure the pitch was correct on the radiator. Now is gets warmer, but not enough to make that part of the house much warmer. I have noticed that the return pipe is ice cold on that line, but hot/warm on the other two. Is that an issue? Should I insulate the return lines? Is the lesser diameter pipe causing problems?