Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

gas + inexpierence

Options
JoeV
JoeV Member Posts: 62
I can't argue that one because it's true!

Comments

• joel_19
    joel_19 Member Posts: 931
    Options
    gas + inexpierence

just heard that a house near hear got trashed from a gas exsplosion the other day. Initial investigation makes it apear that the home owner was trying to change a water heater himself. The new one was sitting right there in what was left of the basement.

I am not good with computers , it is a minor triumph for me to be able to make "The Wall" work. Anything tougher well i've got people i pay , office staff, computer geeks, my 10 yold son.

Point is what would posses someone to tackle something so dangerous as that to save a few bucks? The cheapest houses here are around 400k and spiral to the millions. so if your paying a mortgage on that how can you not afford to have a pro fix the water heater?

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Ragu_4
    Ragu_4 Member Posts: 44
    Options
    Tough to figure..

That's a tough mindset to figure out Joel; people have different versions of economics and value for monies spent. I've come up with 3 reasons why people get into doing projects that are over their heads:

1. They are broke, and truly can't afford to buy both material and labor.

2. They THINK they are broke.

3. They truly do not understand (as this poor guy didn't) what is involved in certain trades, and what can go wrong. Part of this is just not knowing; part of this is believing the DIY marketing strategy: "This stuff is so easy, anyone can do it!"; and the worst part (for me) is the elitist attitude of some people that their high level of academic intelligence is far superior to that of those "lowly" tradespeople.