Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need Propane Hot Water Control Help

I am modifying a 40 gallon propane hot water tank
to be a chicken scalder for the farm. I need to change the controls and valve so that I hold a steady 150 degrees, instead of fluctuating between a high and low point.
I have been told I need to change the valve into a combination
gas valve and install a ETC and probe in immersion well.
Any other way to get the tank to stay in a more narrow range
than the stock controls without such a major overhaul?
Please recommend what items you would use.
thanks.

Comments

• carol_3
    carol_3 Member Posts: 397

I can't be sure what your application is, but I'll take a guess based on how things usually are. Chances are that your gas valve already is a combination gas valve. Anyway, the valve doesn't control the temperature. It just controls whether or not there's gas available to make a flame. The temp controller is probably an aquastat. Unfortunately for what you have in mind, the temp range of an aquastat is often in the 15-20 degree range. You might need to find a plumber who knows controls to come up with a tighter temp controller.
  • Harley
    Harley Member Posts: 18

I believe the gas valves that come on the propane hot water are self regulated in a range. I am trying to find the simplest way to get a tighter control on the range and set it at 150 degrees +- 5 degrees.
  • Larry Weingarten
    Larry Weingarten Member Posts: 3,272
    Normal water heater...

... controls can have a dead band of 30 degrees these days. I don't know of a way to use the standard millivolt control to get the tight range you want. Electronic set point thermostats can control closely though. How about using one to control a simple on/off 24 volt gas valve?