Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

70 year old boiler retrofit

thank you for your response Steve,
Is there a new boiler system that can tie into the existing electrical and plumbing. The electrical is all honeywell and has been updated at some point (probably late 60's). I have been told that it is very sophisticated. Also the pumps are fed from 1" water lines and appear to be have been replaced shortly before I bought the place 4 yrs ago. I'm guessing that a new boiler would not support that kind of flow, however i'm far from an expert on the subject. Also, I am comforted in the fact that with the old boiler I have the ability to burn wood or coal as a back up to gas (I know I live in Canada not Ukraine and we have a very secure gas supply here, but it is a nice feature). The system costs me about $200/month during a cold period and that is without any basement insulation (by cold I mean -30c for an extended period). Once I update my basement windows and insulate to R20 it should cut that substantially so my bigger concern is reliability unless I can directly swap a new boiler into my existing infrastructure at a reasonable cost, say $5000 and keep the old beast as a back up. I wouldn't be able to haul it out anyway, it probably ways 1500lbs and has an asbestos coating.
Ps. I did have a system designed and it was a water (from my existing system) to glycol heat exchanger feeding the infloor. only benefit I can think of from this is introducing a little less oxygen into the system initially? possibly? Not sure why I wouldn't just use a mixing valve? It seemed overdone but again I'm no expert and am looking for a second opinion.

Comments

• jeremy_15
    jeremy_15 Member Posts: 9
    70 yr old boiler retrofit