Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Banging in steam boiler control manifold

I am a hvac/r tech with 20+ years experience, am quite familiar with steam systems. Here is the unusual problem I have been experiencing. One of the facilities I service is an old school with 2 steam boilers, they both have independent controls, in other words there is no separate lead-lag setup. I have the boilers set up to run as follows: On a cold start, both boilers will come on, modulate up to high fire, and as steam starts to build, the lag boiler will modulate to low fire, and eventually shut off. The lead boiler will modulate the firing rate to maintain steam. It runs continuously to maintain just enough steam pressure to get heat to the entire building. I know when it comes to steam pressure the lower the better, so I set the controls to modulate the firing rate to maintain constant steam. My customer has a lot of passing traps, so I have to run the pressure higher than I would like to. My customer has been very pleased with the operation and their energy bills have dropped some. Now on to the problem. The lag boiler remains off during system operation as the lead boiler maintains the load, I leave the control switch on so that in the event of a drop in steam pressure due to failure of the lead boiler the lag boiler will start up. While the lag boiler is dormant, my customer has recently informed me that there is water hammer occuring in the controls area of the lag boiler, which I know is caused by water flashing to steam in the control header piping, this causes the gauge to jump rapidly and the pressuretrols to "chatter" the controls rapidly on and off. There is a trap for the "overflow" to prevent flooding of the boiler, so this is not an issue. The one thing that I don't like which I suspect may be a factor in the equation i