Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Electrical questions - off topic

www.mikeholt.com

Any install/code questions can be answered there...
And yes, I have been a licensed electrician for 30 years.As well as plumbing, HVAC, gas.

Comments

• Keith_19
    Keith_19 Member Posts: 18

Hi everyone just had a couple of miscellaneous wiring questions that I was hoping you could clarify for me.

I need to run some 300W quartz-halogen lights on the outside of my house. Sizing and laying out the circuit is no problem, already done in fact, but I haven't really run exterior wiring before. The questions that I have are:

Should I run 1/2" rigid conduit or EMT with compression connectors;
    Can I make wiring joints inside a C or LB conduit body;
    I'll be mounting a weatherproof box with a back tap, and penetrating the band joist through vinyl siding to run my wire to the outside. What would you use to seal the penetration? Silicone?;
    lastly, this is one of opinion. I'm broadcasting some light into a patio area, one that I like having barbeques on once in a while. Do you think it would be better to mount a weatherproof switch outside to control the circuit, or standard switches inside near the door leading outside? Obviously you can't see my house, just wondering.

Anyway thanks a lot for any help.

• Brad White_191
    Brad White_191 Member Posts: 252
    No offense but

you need a licensed electrician on board.

You could wind up having something in common with both Arthur Fiedler and Arturo Toscanini: You would be a conductor and dead.

The details you are asking leave enough things unasked as unknowns to allow confident guidance by remote.

Issues regarding materials, applications, GFCI protection, secondary grounding, etc. etc.....