Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How do I zone a Hot Water System?

Options
Matt_58
Matt_58 Member Posts: 3
Frank & Big Ed,

Thanks for your advice. I had thought that I would need to split the line and run more pipe. Since this is the case and I will be looking at spending some time and money already; do either of you think that it might be time to convert my first floor (baseboard) to in floor heat? I have 3/4 inch oak floors that are over 7/8 inch x 12 inch plank sub floors. The house is just over 100 years old. Is this a project I should consider?

Comments

• Matt_58
    Matt_58 Member Posts: 3
    Options
    How do I Zone a Hot Water System?

Hello,

I am new to this fantastic website and am looking for some advice. I have a hot water system. The basement and second floors have free standing radiators and the first floor has hot water baseboard heat. The first floor was at one time populated with radiators and was later converted, so now I only have one radiator on the first floor, in the kitchen.

My problem is this, if I set my "Honeywell No. 9" thermostat 60 degrees for the first floor, the second floor is 73. I have a single trunk system with one main line that feeds all of the radiators and baseboards. I would like to zone my system for better temperature control; how do I go about doing this and/or is this possible with my system? Please let me know if there is any additional information that you need or would like. And thank you in advance for all of your help.
  • Frank_62
    Frank_62 Member Posts: 16
    Options