Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant ceiling

Gordy
Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
I married this one when I bought the house. My Granparents built it in 1952. Its been performing ever since.

Its copper tubing which is fastened to the backerboard then the brown coat goes on followed by the top coat, about 1" thick. Has quick response with a little thermal mass kicker NICE!

Gordy

Comments

• Big Will
    Big Will Member Posts: 395
    Radiant ceiling with aluminum panels

I have never done this before but with radiant floor using the panels I get about 80 deg floor with 135-155 deg water depending on the floor thickness/covering. I looked at the R-values and 3/4 hardwood over 3/4 ply is R-2.2 but 5/8 rock is about r-.5. With this in mind I would think the ceiling surface temp would be higher with the same water temp. However I cant secure the plate to the drywall the way I can to the sub-floor. I would expect this to drop the surface temp a little. The space I am heating with the radiant ceiling is the highest load (Finished basement) so I will need a higher surface tempto meet the load. I could set it up to run of the domestic hot water priority to get a higher temp but would rather keep the temps as low as posible. Running numbers is one thing but seing it run is another.
  • john_215
    john_215 Member Posts: 5

You might be using the wrong numbers. As I understand it the radiant energy off the plates in a downward direction is less--the r val against a downward flow of heat is more.
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,830
    As long

as the sheetrock is in good contact with the rock the transfer will be fine. No need to attach to the rock.