Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Zones or Nightly Shut Offs?

I learn new things here every day... Not done yet!

Good point on the valves, Nicholas- despite being "handy", they do carry that risk. Thanks for pointing that out.

Comments

• Bill_113
    Bill_113 Member Posts: 3
    Zones or Partial Nightly Shut Offs?

I am new to steam heat and have a 2400ft2 bungalow with a one-pipe steam system. During the day, we spend 95% of the time on the first floor, but at night we spend 100% of the time on the second floor.
    Therefore, I am wondering if there is a way to save $$ by sending nearly all the heat to the first floor during the day and then to the second floor at night? It seems right now we are being rather wasteful by heating the whole first floor all night when we really only need the bedrooms at a comfortable temperature.
  • Brad White_203
    Brad White_203 Member Posts: 506
    Best thing?

Your situation sounds like an ideal application for thermostatic radiator vent valves. I am partial to Macon OPSK's but there are others. Key is to have an integral vacuum breaker.

(Zoning one-pipe steam is a minefield of problems. Can be done but more often than not it just does not work. Not recommended.)

These will allow venting of air (and steam to enter the radiator) when the room is below setpoint. When the room is near setpoint or above, the air venting is slowed then stopped which in turn practically stops steam from entering the radiators.

These are really "high limit" devices and only say, "no mas!".

While I would not recommend that they be continually adjusted (they will not "Call" for heat but just allow it to enter when the boiler is on), these will dampen any over-heating and allow you to sleep in a cooler bedroom if you like.