Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant heating as \"Green?\"

Chris S
Chris S Member Posts: 177
I just finished the training to become a CGP (certified green professional). I am not an expert on this, but I do have the manuals. In order to qualify a home as "Green" the building

1. must comply with the International Energy Conservation Code or a local energy code which ever is more stringent

2. HVAC loads must be designed using mahual J or equivalent.

3.A third party plan review to verify compliance with the guidelines is required.

Because the course & the program place a high emphasis on energy savings via insulation strategies, tightening up building etc. there is a great emphasis on air quality.
In reference to hydronic systems, there is but a brief paragraph in a 50 page chapter. I think this is because most new construction goes with forced air.

The underlying goal is however efficiency, and so we get points for a properly designed, insulated, and installed high efficiency heating plant. This would include the use of low wattage circs and zone valves as mentioned above.
In the overall scheme of things however we lose point if these components are shipped over 500 miles because of the carbon footprint associated with shipping.

And (from the manual) the benefits of a green building include more comfortable, healthier & safer homes, with lower utility bills. So I would say then that Radiant Heat is "Green"

Comments

• Jack Sweet
    Jack Sweet Member Posts: 14
    Radiant heating as \"Green?\"

Hi, everybody. It's Jack Sweet from Reeves Journal. I was hoping to take a few seconds of your time to conduct a very informal and unscientific survey.

Is radiant heating a "Green" technology as that word has come to be defined? Why or why not?