Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

all of a sudden hammer?????

Options
J Heritage
J Heritage Member Posts: 27
Piping should all be pitched. It will drain back by itself. Psi is way to high

Comments

• T_3
    T_3 Member Posts: 16
    Options

Hello and thank you for taking the time to read my post.

I am a 3rd year plumbing apprentice and installed this boiler myself my first steamer. I have done extensive research on the site and believe i have done everything correctly.

after install i have

skimmed
    insulated
    checked pitch
    checked rad vents

every thing checked out ok.

it work for a month kicking but steam in ten minutes. now two days ago i awoke at 3 am to bad hammer. i went downstairs and can hear a wave of water being pushed down the main. then when a little pressure builds its starts to bang bad. I do not understand how it was fine for a month and now i have issues.

Do you think i could have sediment build up in the main?

do I not have enough head pressure from the condesate returns to push the water back through my hartford loop? is it backing up into the steam mains?

I ran condensate at 1" because that was the original installers size. i never had hammer before so i figured it would work.I drop though to a 2x1 tee and run a 2" manifold back to the boiler for a hartford loop should it be smaller?

I ran it last night and it raised the temp 10 degress without a hitch after i removed about 1.5 gallons of water. i could still hear the wave but no banging this time.

please help
  • Steamhead (in transit)
    Options
    Something changed

now we have to find out what it was. If you had to remove water, maybe the feeder is leaking.

Can you post some pics of the boiler? Also, is this a one-pipe or two-pipe system?