Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Ultra fin job

Options
alang
alang Member Posts: 35
I did all the AV install work on a large house which was all Ultra Fin. About 4500 Sq Ft. They installed after the subfloors were down and used the snake hangars which screw to the underside of the subfloor and suspend the tube about 2-3 inches below the subfloor. Later, they came back with fiberglass below.

I was in the house in march doing the final peices of my install and was loving walking around in my socks. The house also has 3 zones of hydroair, but they weren;t hooked up, and its was very comfortable even with the wind and snow blowing around outside.

I have some pics of the Boiler install, and the tube install, that I can post later.

Comments

• Big Will
    Big Will Member Posts: 396
    Options
    This is my first time

using the ultra fin. It went really well. Six zones 3700 sq feet total of 80 hours labor. We used 250' loops and ran the fins at 18" on center hopefully this will allow me to run low temps. The carpenters were right behind us with the subfloor. If this works well I will be using it a lot for new construction.
  • JohnNY
    JohnNY Member Posts: 3,231
    Options
    Contact John "JohnNY" Cataneo, NYC Master Plumber, Lic 1784
    Consulting & Troubleshooting
    Heating in NYC or NJ.
    Classes
  • Darin Cook_5
    Darin Cook_5 Member Posts: 298
    Options
    Will

What did you use for design software? I am curious how many btu's per square feet this can do or is supposed to do. I would sure hate to find out the hard way that the system won't heat the floor in the dead of winter. Cold customers can be "agitated".

Darin

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • Tony_42
    Tony_42 Member Posts: 37
    Options