Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Is this the right boiler for the job?????

Options
are correct, then the boiler is too small. The solution is obvious.

That condensate pump and those F&T traps should never have been installed. Remove them and go back to simple, reliable gravity return.

Those main vents sound like old American-Standard vents. Measure the length and diameter of each steam main and we'll tell you what to replace them with.

<A HREF="http://www.heatinghelp.com/getListed.cfm?id=367&Step=30">To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"</A>

Comments

• Brad Cline
    Brad Cline Member Posts: 1
    Options
    Checking for correct boiler size that was installed

I'm a new Service Manager that has inherited a possible problem child. My company installed this boiler 4 years ago. I was wondering if it was the right for the job and does it need to be changed out. I measured all the radiators on this steam heating system came to the conclusion that the combined sqft of steam required for the radiators is between 496 - 530 sqft. The old boiler was 200,000 btus (by the old notes left behind by the estimator). The new boiler is a Weil McLain M# EG-40-PIDN Series 4 and is rated for 125,000 btus output / 317 sqft of steam / Water Mbh 88 / Steam Mbh 76 / DOE Heat Cap 101,000 btu/hr. The estimator based the change out by the calculation of 240 btus x 530 sqft of steam = 127,200 btus on the high side and 240 x 496 = 119,040 btus. The boiler looks undersized. I found that the 2 main vents (Quick Vent #821) that look very old are bad / one is shooting out steam and the other is plugged (and were put on elbows). 8 out of 12 radiator air vents are bad (paint covered and plugged). 2 F&T's (1 1/4" copper piping returns)(Watson McDaniel Series 4 / 15 psig) are on the retur