Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Insulation Under Slab?

Options
Don Regan
Don Regan Member Posts: 43
Heat goes to cold. It's that simple. Where do you want the heat to go? In the ground or in the room? When I studied Radiant in Germany and Austria, they start a 4" of EPS insulation, most were 6". In the USA we argue about just putting it in or not. Maybe are heating costs are still to cheep. It's only going to cost more to heat that space in the future. I would stack the odds in my favor if given the choice.

Comments

• Rich L.
    Rich L. Member Posts: 414
    Options
    To insulate or not

I just finished reading a story in the October issue of Engineered Systems magazine about radiant heat being installed in a new 148,000 sq ft Air Transport hanger. The pictures show the tubes tied to the rebar, looks like 12" centers with absolutly no insulation beneath. This building is in the Columbus, OH area. The cost savings of not insulating won't begin to be offset by the higher energy usage, right? This seems really short sighted on someones part or am I missing something here? I personally don't recommend anybody install a system without 2" of pink foam. The days of cheap energy are long gone.

What's your thoughts? Are there applications where you don't insulate between a slab and the ground? Why?

Rich L
  • jp_2
    jp_2 Member Posts: 1,935
    Options
    well??

I too have been thinking about this.

say you build a simple 20x20ft heated slab house during the summer. insulated the perimeter well, down to, say 4ft.

whats the temperature under the middle of the slab in the middle of summer? if you start heating early in the fall, the center slab ground temp will stay the same as summer. if its sand or gravel and in a dry area, why would you need to insulate?