Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating Super-insulated houses

jp_2
jp_2 Member Posts: 1,935
I agree with constant circ, but here you might be able to use setback to an advantage. higher ramp up temps in morning could give the feel of "warm floors", maybe a short ramp up in the evening too. then ramp down to normal floor temps to prevent large over swing.

Comments

• Chris Jones_3
    Chris Jones_3 Member Posts: 12
    Heating super insulated houses

I'm an architect working on a project that is basically a semi-detached condo building in Southern VT, near the Mass border. It is in the late planning stage. Each unit is roughly square and is approximately 1500sf. The walls are SIP Panels (R-40) and the roof is (R-60). The foundation is insulated slab on grade. The Owners of the complex hired a heating expert that recommended against radiant floor heating due to slow responce. It was suggested that rinnai units be used as point source heating. Several owners want to heat with decorative vented gas stoves. One wants electric baseboard due to allergies. To complicate matters, several owners have asked to convert their utility rooms into living space. I'm investigating flat panel radiators and TRV's as well as propane wall hung boilers. The proposed solution for domestic hot water is one gas instantaneous heater per unit, located in the bathroom. I worked on a hotel project several years ago using electric instantaneous heaters which did not work very well and were replaced. Each unit will have a HRV system. Any suggestions?
  • J.C.A._3
    J.C.A._3 Member Posts: 2,981
    Just one....

Punt! Chris
  • Brad White
    Brad White Member Posts: 2,398
    Radiant- Hands Down (Feet Down Too)

Given a choice, radiant with excellent controls would win in a heartbeat.