Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

boiler help here

or was it doing what it was supposed to. Releiveing excess pressure.

You could have a failed heat exchanger in the IDW thats allowing street water pressure to bleed into the 30 PSI side of things...

Or a defective PRV....(pressure reducing valve)

Or a defective pressure relief valve...

Or a defective expansion tank...

Turn off the cold water to the IDHW and see if the pressure on the boiler drops.

Some times, the obvious is not so obvious.

ME

Comments

• #1 plumba
    #1 plumba Member Posts: 9
    new to the trade

Im fairly new to the trade and got into a nice small company right outta school. the boss is on vacation for a few days and ive been thinking about a call i got saturday night at 10 pm...can someone help me out
    its a boiler with indirect H.W, couple zones. i got the call cause the customer came back from florida to a flooded basement. The pressure reliefe was bad, the expansion tank was bad, and the fill valve was spitting out the top. I replaced them noticing quite a bit of sediment but dont think of it being anything right now...the system is getting to pressure, as well as heating properly, but then when it gets to the temp, the relief valve goes off. The expansion tank is correctly sized as well as everything else..When i first ran it to make sure it worked on the way out it worked fine. what else can i do to check or fix my problem?
  • Cosmo_3
    Cosmo_3 Member Posts: 845
    spitting fill valve?

Might want to check into that. It might be stuck open.

Cosmo
  • marc
    marc Member Posts: 203
    indirect hot water maker

Might be a leak in the indirect coil, we have had a few that leak every so often. Marc
  • Dead battery in wireless mouse...

causes inadvertent double click...

ME
  • Cosmo_3
    Cosmo_3 Member Posts: 845