Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

basement?

Options
dmy hvac
dmy hvac Member Posts: 33
i am a refrigeration contractor.i am having a house built this spring.ive gotten prices on all styles of cellars block,poured and pre cast walls by superior.i am really impressed with the pre cast walls by superior, ive been in alot of basements in my day but no pre cast.the house is gonna be a raised ranch and i plan on finishing basement off eventually.i know this is not a heating question but i know that we all have spent more time in basements than probably any other profession.anyone seen or heard any good or bad things about these pre cast walls or any advice or prefrences on type of basement you would use?any advice is greatly appreciated!!!the pre cast walls were also less expensive than the other 2.

Comments

• Ed_26
    Ed_26 Member Posts: 284
    Options
    basement

Best I have seen are "ICF". - Styrofoam blocks that are poured full of cement. I have seen complete houses built from ICF & very tight, very efficient. IMHO the best way to go.
  • Scram Bulleggs
    Scram Bulleggs Member Posts: 12
    Options
    ICF walls

are an electricians nightmare. I saw you talked about finishing it in the future. Something to think about.
  • Dave_4
    Dave_4 Member Posts: 1,405
    Options

I built homes for a few years and used the Superior Walls on every one. I wish I would have used them on my house 12 years ago, although the ICFs are really nice too. Never had any experience with them.

Rob
  • kevin coppinger_4
    kevin coppinger_4 Member Posts: 2,124
    Options
    ICF 's are great...

The AMVIC brand is the ones I have used...wiring is not a big deal...hot knife and a electric chain saw makes it a snap...kpc

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"