Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

black pipe or soft copper?

Options
Yes, I'd put drip legs in there.

Comments

• tm
    tm Member Posts: 125
    Options
    am I wasting my time??

Please note that I am not a diy'er. I worked as a plumber for many years and have experience with black iron pipe and copper flare fittings. When we moved into our new house we wanted to get rid of the electric stove. Propane service company said soft copper was fine and within the code of my town. I ran soft copper from the tank location to the new stove. I have about 40' of copper in the basement. Now we are getting rid of the electric dryer and bought a propane dryer. Here is my concern - I am a bit nervous about the copper in retrospect. I feel now, that I should have used black iron but felt the copper was "easier at the time". Propane scares me with it's nature of combustion being more dangerous than natural gas. So, I am thinking of starting from scratch and running all black pipe, with 48" coated stainless flex connectors to each appliance. Am I wasting my time? I feel that I will be safer and "be doing the job right". Any thoughts on thiswill be much appreciated.
    PS - is teflon paste still the recommended material for joints with propane?
  • lchmb
    lchmb Member Posts: 2,997
    Options
    comfort

Although I have run more than a few system's with copper and have never had an issue, your personal comfort is all that will matter. For the price of 40 feet of black iron I would be hauling out the threader and having at it. I would also recommend sizing the pipe large enough now to handle any other possible item's down the road (gas log, water heater).