Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Too warm!

To John@reliable and MikeT@swampeast MO

The 2nd floor radiators always feel warm (they're radiating like crazy, in fact) The house isn't well-insulated, but there's a full 3rd floor which has no radiators, but does have gravity vents in several spots. Flow-check valve sounds like a possibility. Hmmmm. Thanks!

Comments

• Mike Wright
    Mike Wright Member Posts: 3
    Too warm upstairs

I'm new to living with hot water heat and this may be a basic question, but: why, with the thermostat set to 58F at night (and I've verified that the room with the thermo. is staying at about that temp) on the second floor are we roasting? The first floor remains cool. We have a 60-ish year old Homart boiler and the original 1890s plumbing & radiators. Boiler has recently been serviced and partly replumbed.

Thanks,

Mike
  • John@Reliable_13
    John@Reliable_13 Member Posts: 34
    Mmmmm............

Was it o.k. before repiping? Could be a flo-check was removed or after draining down and refilled flo-check is stuck open maybe.
  • Mike T., Swampeast MO
    Mike T., Swampeast MO Member Posts: 6,928

Do the upstairs radiators get cold overnight when you've set back the thermostat?

If not, you're probably getting unwanted gravity circulation. Boilers of your vintage generally held quite a bit of water and are set up to keep themselves constantly hot with the thermostat controlling only the circulator.