Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

accessing thermocouple

> Usually the pilot burner can be removed by <BR>
> unscrewing the 2 5/16" screws that hold it in <BR>
> place. Be careful when removing burners as they <BR>
> have to be reinstalled properly so that they <BR>
> don't become dislodged or tip.<BR>
> <BR>
> Mike T. <BR>
<BR>
How would one remove that from the gas supply? The gas supply is what blocks access to getting out the burners? It's very similar to the setup seen here:

http://masterplumber.net/Burnham%20Boilers.htm

Comments

• Hello all...

I'll say upfront that I am a novice...(so apologies in advance for my ignorance.

The pilot on the boiler to my hydronic heating system won't stay lit. The thermocouple, from what I can tell, looks worn and seems to be the problem. I'd like to replace it myself. To access the business end of the thermocouple, I (believe I) need to pull out the burners on my Crown Aruba (approx. 12 years old). I'm not entirely sure how to do so. First, I have turned the gas off, of course. In trying to figure out how to get the burners out, I realize that I need disconnect the feeder pipe (feeding gas to the burners) from the control box (is that right?). THe pipe is threaded into the control box and the only access it looks like I'd be able to get is by unscrewing four allen bolts that lead into the control box...(perhaps the union will be found in here??). Is that accurate? Or am I going about this all wrong?

Your assistance is appreciated.
  • accessing thermocouple

Hello all...

I'll say upfront that I am a novice...(so apologies in advance for my ignorance.