Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help- Plumber with limited hydronic exp. needing advice

You can buy Dresser couplings that will handle up to
200°F water. There are special gaskets required to handle that temperature. We have used them for, "emergency buy me some time until spring", repairs.

Comments

• Larry F.
    Larry F. Member Posts: 3

Help- I'm looking for advice on doing a piping repair. i'm a plumber w/ not much experience with heating systems. The system is in an apartment complex approx 45 years old. Hot water heat/ chill water cooling. Small fancoil units are in the ceiling of each apartment.Piping has leak in the attic on one of the main runs. old steel pipe is very corroded, and deteriorated. complete replacement has been discussed but is not feasible at this time so we are going to attempt a repair to the leaking section. My questions are:
    1. I dont believe we will be able to unscrew piping from fittings- looks to weak and rusted. Is it possible to use steel dresser couplings to couple new pipe to old? Will the rubber gasket take the heat? The maint person says he is running 180 degree water through the system. Is this a normal temp? Also what would a normal pressure be for a system like this?.
    2. There will be a tee involved in the repair. This tee is 2" x 2" x 3/4. The 3/4 side is branching off to one of the fan coil units. not sure if it is the supply or return. Are these just a normal tee, or are they some kind of "diverter" tee that sends water to the fan coil unit?-Thanks Larry F. Roswell NM
  • ScottMP
    ScottMP Member Posts: 5,883
    Roswell

Larry are yousure this is what you saw ? It could have just been a weather ballon !

O.K. only kidding.

Preasure in the system will/should be related to the height of the building.