Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

First Post: Help getting started on DIY maintenance, frequent low-water cutoff on Burnham Boiler

Hi!

I'm new to this forum, and hoping to get some help with maintaining my residential steam heat system. I'm a novice at home repair, but I'm good at math and handy with tools, and enthusiastic about learning to care for the system myself. I'm also concerned there might be a serious problem that needs professional help.

I live in a 1920s duplex in the Boston area. It's a one-pipe steam system with a gas-fired Burnham boiler, which I had installed in 2009. It's been serviced about once a year by a general HVAC company. The pipes/radiators have had no maintenance in at least the past two decades. The radiators seem to be mostly the original ones except one small one in the third floor bathroom that looks newer. The house has hard water.

I'm recently divorced, and as I've taken over maintaining the house, I've discovered a serious problem with the heating system: the low-water cutoff on the boiler shuts down the heat every ten hours or so. I go down to the basement and refill the sight glass to about an inch from the top every morning, and it's shut off again by the time I get home in the evening. If I refill it then, it will be out again before morning. There's a sticker on the boiler that says it shouldn't need to be filled more than once a month. I believe that until 2015 it never needed to be done more than once or twice a year.

The glass is pretty full of rust and sediment, and there's a bucket below it that's always full of rusty water. I've observed steam rushing out of the openings around the sight glass, and drops of water leaking down the sides, but I'm not sure how it leaks enough to keep that bucket full.