Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Haloecetic Acids, Trimethylhalides, Lions, and Tigers, and Bears. Oh my.

Options
AnnieT
AnnieT Member Posts: 36
I need to test the pH quality of the water at my Mom's place before a new boiler install. The town water has moderate to high levels of the above chemicals as well as chlorine (which I understand can be eliminated through boiling?). In researching some of these chemicals, it seems they do affect metals, iron & copper, in plumbing systems. I wonder should we use bottled water, test the pH of that, add tablets if necessary to bring the pH up to the right levels?

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,740
    Options
    I'm still trying to learn how to properly treat a steam boiler. I've been using Steamaster tablets since 2012 with excellent results but I'm trying to learn more about it as we speak.

If I was you, I would contact Rhomar Water Managment and ask them for recommendations. They sell test kits, treatment, everything you need.

http://www.rhomarwater.com/

Give them a call, explain the concern and see what they recommend. You can't go wrong.
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • Captain Who
    Captain Who Member Posts: 452
    Options