Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Old man sleeping by the ocean

Is the best way I can describe the noises my formerly quiet single pipe steam system is currently making. I bought this house back in September and this is my first time living with Steam Heat. My dad is a retired union Pipe Fitter so I grew up around heating and refrigeration, know my way around central air and forced heat, but not so much on steam.

Had the boiler serviced, LWCO was confirmed operational. The house had some stuck air vents and leaking valves, another leaking pipe coming through the floor so I was losing water regularly. Sometimes faster than other times. The LWCO failed on one of those faster times and I found the boiler cooking it self. Let it cool, filled it with water and it seemed to be fine. Thought I dodged a bullet, but I didn't realize it at the time it cracked above the water line. I replaced a bunch of valves and air vents and the cracked pipe and felt I closed up all the leaks and the system was working well. I even repitched a return and got rid of some banging. The system was very quiet.